Carpel Tunnel Syndrome

25 Apr

Boy, do I have some exciting news! Okay, no, not really. For a week now, I have been having terrible shooting pains up and my right arm all the way to my finger tips. Lots of tingling, numbness, and pain. It’s been so bad that I can’t even put on make up, cook/clean, pick up my dog’s water bowl, even. 20130428-010631.jpgWorst of all (as if those weren’t bad enough), I’m losing even more sleep than before. Waking up in the morning is terrible. I can’t shake off the numbness quick enough, sometimes it even takes 10 minutes.

Since I just love to self diagnose myself, I Googled and read away. Carpel Tunnel Syndrome. CTS, folks. It’s no joke. I knew someone who had CTS. He had the surgery done to relieve the pressure from the median nerve. As far as I know, he’s been fine ever since. He suffered a lot until he had it done.

I didn’t get the CTS from repetitive work like a normal person would. I have it because of the swelling that occurs in the body during pregnancy. My wrists, hands, my feeties (especially my right foot!) are pretty swollen. So the swelling in my right wrist has put pressure on my median nerve. Fun! My doctor confirmed CTS. She said a brace would help (which duh, I researched last night). After the appointment, my Hubby took me to Walmart where he bought me a wrist brace made especially for women and CTS. Talk about instant relief. He went to a tennis game for his kids while I stayed home to nap. I must have slept for 2 to 3 hours and uh, my goodness, it felt AMAZING! I slept AND I wasn’t in pain. I couldn’t believe it. 

One of my biggest fears has been this: What if I can’t take care of my baby because my fingers/arm is too numb. That’s just scary especially because it is my right arm that hurts and I plan on exclusively breast feeding. While self diagnosing, I read other pregnant women’s experiences with CTS. Big mistake. I stay away from forums because all it does it feed you incorrect information and freak you out to no end. So yes, I freaked out until I had this incredible nap. I now I have I’m glad to say!

Leave a Reply

